Colombiers - Aerial view

A stone's throw from the Canal du Midi, Saint-Sylvestre and Sainte-Colombe church is a Romanesque style building. This first trace of a place of worship dates from the early Christian era, the most beautiful vestige of which is the Visigothic altar, a listed historic monument. And it is from this altar, reinstalled in the church, that we can see that the church has witnessed three different periods: Visigothic, Romanesque and modern, without ever being neglected as a place of prayer.

A first place of worship was built on the mound near the ancient dirt track which preceded the nearby Via Domitia. The eact date of its appearance is unknown but it is believed to be from the early Christian era.

The Saint-Sylvestre and Sainte-Colombe Church has undergone many alterations, especially in the nineteenth century when it was adorned with lavish ornaments, signs of wealth for that time. But it was in 1987, under the passionate initiative of Father Itié, priest of the parish and lover of the village, with the participation of the municipality and volunteers, that the building was freed from its multiple additions, restoring the simplicity and unity of a place conducive to meditation.

The excavations of the ancient cemetery have uncovered several slate tombs and sarcophagi, the best preserved of which, said to be acroteric, is displayed at the back of the church.

The Romanesque part of the building is represented, mainly, in the apse located to the east as it should be, located on the primitive apse: in blond stones, it is admirable and deserves to be seen "on the courtyard side" , at the back of the church. The apse is pierced with three openings called oculi, all redesigned. We can see only one apse: did the fragility of the land prevent the construction of a second? The presence of a buttress suggests this.

In the seventeenth century, there were worries that a very high bell tower, with a spire at the top measuring over three metres high was too fragile. In 1782 repairs were necessary and were carried out by a mason who inscribed his name in a cartridge surrounded by black stones: Maitre Cardos, from Nissan. In 1855, lightning set it on fire, mobilizing the local population. That was when the spire covered with beautiful terracotta was removed, and the building gained a more modern appearance.

In 1868, the church was extended because it was deemed too small for the time. The walls were pushed back without respecting the ancient construction and the fresco was decorated. The stained glass windows were installed by the master glassmaker Gesta from Toulouse. The stained glass windows are impressive but the most remarkable of all is the large rosette with five lobes with the Virgin in the chair according to Raphael. As forthe central apse which dates from 1992, there is a dove devoted to Saint Colombe, the symbol of the church.

Among the furniture present in the building, some pieces are quite remarkable such as the Cross of Saint Sylvester, the medieval baptismal font or, in the north chapel, a beautiful virgin in white marble from the eighteenth century.

Saint-Sylvestre and Sainte-Colombe Church is not only a place of meditation or worship, but also a story of construction, a peaceful place…

Colombiers, vue aérienne

A quelques encablures du Canal du Midi, l’église Saint-Sylvestre et Sainte-Colombe est classifiée de style roman. La première trace d'un lieu de culte date de l'époque paléochrétienne dont le plus beau vestige est l'autel wisigothique, classé monument historique. Et c'est à partir de cet autel, réinstallé dans l'église, que l’on peut affirmer qu’elle a traversé trois périodes : wisigothique, romane et moderne, sans jamais être délaissée en tant que lieu de prières.

Un premier lieu de culte a été bâti sur la butte proche de l’antique chemin de terre qui précéda la Voie Domitienne, toute proche. Sa date d’implantation précise est inconnue mais on la suppose de l’époque paléochrétienne.

L’église Saint-Sylvestre et Sainte-Colombe a subi de nombreux remaniements, notamment au XIXème siècle où elle a été parée d'abondants ornements, signes de richesse pour cette époque. Mais c'est en 1987, sous l’impulsion passionnée du Père Itié, prêtre de la paroisse et amoureux du village, avec la participation de la municipalité et celle de bénévoles, qu’a été dégagé l'édifice de ses multiples ajouts pour lui redonner la simplicité et l'unité d'un lieu propice à la méditation.

Les fouilles de l’antique cimetière ont mis à jour plusieurs tombes à lauze et des sarcophages dont le mieux conservé, dit à acrotères, est exposé au fond de l’église.

La partie romane de l’édifice est représentée, principalement, dans l’abside située à l’est comme il se doit, implantée sur l’abside primitive : en pierres blondes, elle est admirable et mérite d’être vu « côté cour », à l’arrière de l’église. L’abside est percée de trois ouvertures dites oculi, toutes remaniées. On peut observer une seule absidiole : la fragilité du terrain a-t-elle empêché la construction d’une deuxième ? La présence d’un contrefort le laisse supposer.

Au XVIIe siècle, un clocher très haut, surmonté d’une flèche, de plus de trois mètres inquiète par sa fragilité. En 1782 des réparations s’avèrent nécessaires et sont réalisées par un maçon qui a inscrit son nom dans un cartouche ceint de pierres noires : maître Cardos, de Nissan. En 1855, la foudre y met le feu, mobilisant la population. C’est alors que l’on supprime la flèche recouverte de belles terres cuites et on ramène l’ensemble à un aspect plus modeste.

En 1868, l’église est agrandie car jugée trop réduite pour l’époque. On repousse les murs sans respecter l’ancienne construction et on décore à la fresque. On pose les vitraux en faisant appel au maître verrier Gesta de Toulouse. Les vitraux sont splendides mais le plus remarquable de tous est bien la grande rosace à cinq lobes avec la Vierge à la chaise d’après Raphaël. Quant à celui, central, de l’abside qui date de 1992, il y figure une colombe dédiée à sainte Colombe, le symbole de l’église.

Parmi le mobilier présent dans l’enceinte, certains sont assez remarquables comme la Croix St-Sylvestre, les fonts baptismaux médiévaux ou encore, dans la chapelle nord, une belle vierge en marbre blanc du XVIIIe.

L’église Saint-Sylvestre et Sainte-Colombe n’est pas seulement un lieu de recueillement ou de culte, mais aussi une histoire de construction, un lieu apaisé…