Colombiers castle cellar

The Colombiers river port is located on the “Grand Bief” of the Canal du Midi, to the west of Béziers in the “Occitanie Pyrénées Méditerranée” Region, a masterpiece classified as a UNESCO World Heritage Site in 1996. The Grand Bief, also called the Grande Retenue, is located from the Argens-Minervois lock to the Fonséranes lock in Béziers. It stretches over nearly 54 km (53 meters to be exact) while maintaining a constant altitude of 868 meters above sea level. For the time, it was a real technical feat, ranging from design to construction. realization of this section. Unfortunately its inventor, Pierre-Paul Riquet will not see the completion since he died a few months before.

Colombiers river port is equipped with 72 berths including 30 temporary moorings and it provides electricity, water, showers, toilets, wifi, and a boat launching ramp. A harbor master's office, adjoining the Tourist Office, is at your disposal at the entrance to the Château wine cellar.

The port is currently the must-see of the village and is used for multiple purposes. There are shops, restaurants, festivities and walks around the Canal du Midi here. The excavation of the port started on February 1, 1987 and it took seven years to complete this great project.

Port of Colombiers - Aerial view
Port of Colombiers - Aerial view

You can also rent a boat without a license, navigate the Canal aboard sightseeing boats (one of which is labeled "Tourism & Handicap") or even visit the cellar of the Château de Colombiers.

This monumental construction bears witness to a certain form of viticulture which was the source of the wealth of some great families of the Biterrois region. It was built by the LAGARRIGUE family, owners of the Château, who were one of the very first wealthy families at this time in the Biterrois region. The wine-making activity of this cellar came to a close in 1977. The estate was dismantled and was bought by the municipality in 1996. The cellar was in an almost abandoned state and the municipality of Colombiers began to restore it, thanks to grants from Europe and the Regional Council, which funded a completely new roof, the repair and the treatment of the damaged structural elements, as well as facilities to ensure it would be accessible to all.

Colombiers - Aerial view
Colombiers - Aerial view

The roof, remarkable for its majestic frame, was inspired by an overturned boat hull. It was built in 1870 by the Compagnons Charpentiers du Tour de France from the Ecole Gustave Eiffel. The cellar was built over two levels, including a long section which adjoins the reception platform above, with a weep hole to meet temperature and ventilation requirements. It was built in the immediate vicinity of the Canal du Midi to facilitate the transport of wine.

The Château wine cellar is an iconic construction of rural engineering, made up of two L-shaped buildings: a wine-making room built up against a storage cellar 14 meters wide by 70 meters long (994 m2).

The 225 m2 winemaking room is protruding, perpendicular to the main building. It includes an entrance gate, a guard house, a series of tanks for boiling and a platform, where three presses once stood.

In the summer, this exceptional place becomes a lively place that hosts many artists, exhibitions and other cultural events.

Those who take a tour of the Château de Colombiers wine cellar are sure to be moved.

Cave du château de Colombiers

Le port fluvial de Colombiers se situe sur le « Grand Bief » du Canal du Midi, à l’ouest de Béziers en Région “Occitanie Pyrénées Méditerranée”, œuvre magistrale classée au Patrimoine mondial de l’UNESCO en 1996. Le Grand Bief, appelé aussi la Grande Retenue se situe de l’écluse d’Argens-Minervois jusqu’à celle de Fonséranes, à Béziers. Il s’étire sur près de 54 km (53 868 mètres exactement) en conservant une altitude constante de 32 mètres au-dessus du niveau de la mer. Pour l’époque, c’est un véritable exploit technique allant de la conception à la réalisation de ce tronçon.  Malheureusement son inventeur, Pierre-Paul Riquet n’en verra pas l’achèvement puisqu’il meurt quelques mois avant.

Le port de Colombiers est équipé de 72 places dont 30 places en escale et il est doté d’électricité, d’eau, de douches, de sanitaires, du wifi, ainsi que d’une rampe de mise à l’eau. Une capitainerie, jouxtant l’Office du Tourisme, est à votre disposition à l’entrée de la Cave du Château.

Le port est actuellement le site incontournable du village et remplit de multiples fonctions. Il est le lieu de commerces, de restauration, de festivités et de promenades autour du Canal du Midi. Le creusement du port a démarré le 1er février 1987 et sept ans ont été nécessaires à la réalisation de ce grand projet.

Port de Colombiers, vue aérienne
Port de Colombiers, vue aérienne

Vous pourrez également y louer un bateau sans permis, naviguer sur le Canal à bord de bateaux promenade (dont un est labellisé Tourisme & Handicap) ou encore visiter la Cave du Château de Colombiers.

Cette construction monumentale est le témoignage d'une certaine forme de la viticulture qui fit la richesse de quelques grandes familles du Biterrois. Elle fut édifiée par les LAGARRIGUE, propriétaires du Château, qui étaient une des toutes premières fortunes de cette époque dans le Biterrois. L’activité viticole de cette cave s’est arrêtée en 1977. Le domaine a été démantelé et fut racheté par la commune en 1996. La cave était à l’état de quasi-abandon et une restauration a été entamée par la commune de Colombiers, aidée par des subventions de l’Europe et du Conseil Régional, ce qui a permis la réfection totale de la couverture, la réparation et le traitement des pièces de charpente endommagées ainsi qu’une accessibilité pour tous les publics.

Colombiers, vue aérienne
Colombiers, vue aérienne

La toiture, remarquable par sa majestueuse charpente, s'inspire d'une coque de bateau renversée. Sa réalisation daterait de 1870 et a été effectuée par les Compagnons Charpentiers du Tour de France de l’Ecole Gustave Eiffel. La cave se développe sur deux niveaux dont un long-pan jouxte le quai de réception en contre-haut, interposé par une barbacane pour répondre aux contraintes de température et d’aération. Elle a été bâtie à proximité immédiate du Canal du Midi afin de faciliter le transport du vin.

La cave du Château est une construction emblématique du génie rural, composée de deux corps de bâtiment en L : un local de vinification greffé contre une cave de stockage de 14 mètres de large sur 70 mètres de long (994 m2).

Le local de vinification de 225 m2, corps en avancée perpendiculaire au bâtiment principal, comporte un portail d’entrée, une guérite, une série de cuves pour le bouillage et une plate-forme, ancien emplacement des trois pressoirs.

Ce lieu exceptionnel devient, en saison estivale, un lieu vivant qui accueille de nombreux artistes, des expositions et autres manifestations culturelles.

La découverte de la cave du Château de Colombiers laissera un souvenir ému à celui qui viendra la visiter.