In the small tourist town of Capestang as in the charming nearby village of Poilhes, the Canal du Midi leaves its mark on the landscapes, villages and people. By bike, on foot or by boat, you can browse the quays of these two small ports as well as the towpath that will lead you to discover many works of art. By boat, you can of course dock to discover them!

THE PORT OF CAPESTANG:

Around the Port of Capestang, several structures are visible: siphon spillway, aqueduct, weirs, bridges, watering troughs… They will lead you in front of lformer Home valance which now houses thethe Tourist Office and the Harbor master's office.  

La harbor master's office to inform you about the many port services available: water and electricity supplies, internet access, sanitary block with showers, washing machine, clothes dryer ... You can also access the boat rental without license for an hour, a half day or a full day from Capestang harbour. 

Under the stone bridge in Capestang

THE BRIDGE OF SAÏSSE:

In Capestang harbour, the Saïsse Bridge, otherwise known as the "pont de pierre" (stone bridge) by the locals, will be worthy of your full attention! It is the work of architects Claude Colin and Pierre Launay and its construction dates from 1688-1689. With the construction of the canal goes that of bridges to cross it, and the construction of these bridges was taken care of by the States of Languedoc. The bridges over the canal have evolved, both in shape and in means of construction, Capestang offers several examples of these constructions (see the iron bridge downstream from the Harbour). In the seventeenth century it was common to see semicircular stone or brick bridges, the Saïsses bridge is an example. It is particularly distinctive as it has one of the lowest arches of the Canal bridges. In 1754, it almost collapsed, it was then repaired at the expense of the municipality. In 1789, it was completely rebuilt with a new abutment built of rubble stone and an interior cladding in Nissan dressed stone, some of the former elements were preserved and repaired.

THE PORT OF POILHES:

As you continue towards Béziers, do not miss the charming little village of Hairy which will offer you an atmosphere of rest and serenity. You can contemplate magnificent views of theCapestang lake and the Languedoc plain, all the way to the Clape massif.

You will also be able to discover there its superb stone bridge, the wash house, the effanchoir… as well as other remarkable heritage objects such as English cannons or a bottom of Roman dolium.

 

In Poilhes as in Capestang, the  restaurants and cafes alongside the Canal will welcome you for a peaceful break.

Contact our Tourist Office to obtain the prices of the services of the harbor master's office by telephone on 00 33 4 67 37 85 29 or by e-mail:  

Opening hours:

HIGH SEASON
May to September:
8:30 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. and 14 p.m. - 19 p.m.

April and October:
9 a.m. - 12:30 p.m. and 14 p.m. - 18:30 p.m.

LOW SEASON
November to March:
Monday 9 a.m. - 12 p.m. and Friday 14 p.m. - 17 p.m.

As well as a permanent service at 06.12.57.45.34

Port of Poilhes

Dans la petite ville touristique de Capestang  ou dans le charmant village de Poilhes tout proche, le Canal du Midi marque de son empreinte les paysages, les villages et les hommes. A vélo, à pied ou en bateau, vous pourrez parcourir les quais de ces deux petits ports ainsi que le chemin de halage qui vous mènera à la découverte de nombreux ouvrages d'art. En bateau, vous pourrez bien sûr accoster pour les découvrir !

A Poilhes vous découvrirez le pont de pierre, le lavoir, l'épanchoir… mais également d’autres objets patrimoniaux comme des canons anglais ou un fond de dolium romain.

En continuant sur le Grand bief en direction du Port de Capestang, d’autres ouvrages seront également visibles (épanchoir à siphon, aqueduc, déversoirsponts, abreuvoirs… ) et vous conduiront devant l’ancienne maison cantonnière, servant aujourd’hui d’Office de Tourisme et de Capitainerie pour les ports de Poilhes et de Capestang.  

La capitainerie vous renseignera sur les nombreux services portuaires disponibles : réapprovisionnement en eau et électricité, point internet, sanitaires avec douches, lave-linge, sèche-linge... Vous pouvez aussi accéder à la location de bateaux sans permis pour une heure, une demi-journée ou une journée depuis le port de Capestang. 

Sous le pont de pierre à Capestang

Dans le port de Capestang, le Pont de Saïsse, autrement nommé "pont de pierre" par les gens d'ici, méritera toute votre attention ! Il est l’œuvre des architectes Claude Colin et Pierre Launay et sa construction date de 1688-1689. Avec l’aménagement du canal va celui de ponts pour le traverser, leur construction a été prise en charge par les États du Languedoc. Les ponts du canal ont évolué dans leur forme et leur mode de construction, Capestang offre plusieurs exemples de ces constructions (voir le pont de fer en aval du Port). Au XVIIème siècle on trouve les ponts de pierre ou de brique en plein cintre, le pont de Saïsses en constitue un exemple. Il a la particularité d’avoir une des arches les plus basses des ponts du Canal. En 1754, il menace de s’écrouler, il est alors réparé aux frais de la commune. En 1789, il est entièrement reconstruit avec une nouvelle culée bâtie en moellons et un parement intérieur en pierre de taille de Nissan, certains éléments anciens sont conservés et réparés.

Le charmant petit village de Poilhes vous offrira pour sa part une ambiance tout en repos et en sérénité. Vous pourrez y admirer de magnifiques points de vue sur l'étang de Capestang et la plaine Languedocienne, juqu'au massif de la Clape.

A Poilhes comme à Capestang, les quelques restaurants et cafés qui bordent le Canal vous accueilleront pour une pause en toute quiétude.

Contactez notre office de tourisme pour obtenir les tarifs des prestations de la capitainerie par téléphone au 00 33 4 67 37 85 29 ou par e-mail :  

Horaires :

HAUTE SAISON
Mai à septembre:
8h30 - 12h30 et 14h - 19h

Avril et octobre :
9h - 12h30 et 14h - 18h30

BASSE SAISON
Novembre à mars :
Lundi 9h-12h et vendredi 14h-17h

Ainsi qu’une astreinte au 06.12.57.45.34

Port de Poilhes